16 regions of GhanaAfrica Ghana 

The 16 Regions of Ghana and their Capitals 

The 16 Regions of Ghana and their Capitals

The Republic of Ghana has now added six more regions to the existing ten. These regions were created after voters voted YES in a referendum. Currently the number of regions in Ghana is no more 10 but 16.

Below are the 16 regions of Ghana

Region Capital

Ahafo Region – Goaso
Ashanti Region – Kumasi
Bono East Region – Techiman
Bono Region – Sunyani
Central Region – Cape Coast
Eastern Region – Koforidua
Greater Accra Region – Accra
North East Region – Nalerigu
Northern Region. – Tamale
Oti Region. – Dambai
Savannah Region – Damango
Upper East Region – Bolgatanga
Upper West Region. – Wa
Volta Region. – Ho
Western North Region – Sefwi Wiawso
Western Region – Sekondi

16 regions of Ghana

The six new regions were created out of the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern and Western regions. The Oti Region was carved out of the Volta Region, with Dambai as the capital. Bono East and Ahafo were created out of the Brong Ahafo Region with Techiman and Goaso as the respective capitals, while the former Brong Ahafo Region now becomes the Bono Region with Sunyani as the capital.

North East Region and Savannah Region were carved out of the Northern Region with Nalerigu and Damango as the new capitals respectively. Western North with Sefwi Wiawso as its capital was also created out of the Western Region.

The 10 regional capitals before the creation of the new regions still remains same.


Written by 

Other Stories